D.E.A.T

We are are committee of professional educators from around the Townsville Diocese, committed to raising awareness of the environment and promoting environmental action.


The committee works under the guidance of Townsville Catholic Education Office and provides support to the Diocesan Education Council, the Diocesan Curriculum Committee and the Bishop's Advisory Council.

Our charter has a four-fold focus:

  1. Gumburu Environmental Education Centre, an environmental retreat centre at Paluma

  2. Environmental education for schools and parishes throughout the Townsville Diocese

  3. More sustainable living practices in schools, parishes and agencies

  4. Eco-spirituality, ecological conversion and ecological vocation development

The Diocesan Environmental Awareness Team advocates for the implementation of On Holy Ground throughout the Dicoese. On Holy Ground is an ecological vision statement for the Townsville Diocese, accompanied by an environmental audit program.

D.E.A.T. Members

Paul Lucas
plucas@tsv.catholic.edu.au

Leisa Atkinson
latkinson@ryan.catholic.edu.au

Michelle Jones
mjones16@marian.catholic.edu.au

Steven Pascoe
spascoe1@sacc.catholic.edu.au

Mary O'Toole
motoole@smmc.catholic.edu.au

Janelle Knack
jknack@tsv.catholic.edu.au 

Kath Fox
kfox@hsstsv.catholic.edu.au 

Heather Walker
hwalker3@abergowrie.catholic.edu.au 

Jodie Davey
jdavey5@tsv.catholic.edu.au  

Gemma Gibson
ggibson@stclarestsv.catholic.edu.au

Katrina Wootten
kwootton@hsstsv.catholic.edu.au 

John Morrison 
jmorrison@tsv.catholic.edu.au 

Angela Bombardieri (Secretary)
abombardieri1@tsv.catholic.edu.au

Sarah Pugh
spugh@cstsv.catholic.edu.au

Derek Worden
dworden@tsv.catholic.edu.au