Skip to main content

Catholic Education Week

The Catholic Education Week 2022 theme is " Communities of Faith, Hope and Love". 

Celebrated annually in week 3 of term 3, Catholic Education Week is an opportunity for all 309 Catholic schools in Queensland to celebrate and promote their distinctive mission and ethos.

Catholic education strives to make a difference in the lives of those in our schools and in the wider community by challenging young people to live out the message of Jesus and to reach their full potential as compassionate, contributing, life-giving members of society.

An event to mark the official launch of Queensland Catholic Education Week 2022 will be held at in the Archdiocese of Brisbane on Tuesday 26 July 2022.

Catholic Education Week is an annual state-wide event that promotes the distinctive mission of Catholic schools throughout Queensland. The week is celebrated by all schools through a range of activities, liturgies and events. 

More information about our 2022 celebration can be found at

Catholic Education Week Activities - TBC
Monday 25 July Diocesan Launch of Catholic Education Week at Sacred Heart Cathedral, Stanley Street, Townsville | 10.00am - 11.15am
Monday 25July Awarding of Deus Caritas Est medallions | This will be held during the Mass
Tuesday 26 July State Wide Launch of Catholic Education Week at St Patrick's Cathedral, Diocese of Toowoomba | 10.00am 
Wednesday 27 July Spirit of Catholic Education Awards Presentation at Mercure Townsville | 4.30pm-6.00pm

Deus Caritas Est Awards

The Catholic Education Deus Caritas Est  Award is our most prestigious student award and is presented during Catholic Education Week at the Catholic Education Week Mass. Each of our secondary schools nominated one representative who demonstrated a commitment to Christian living in how they interact and treat others.

Click here for our 2022 Award recipients
Click here
for our 2021 Award recipients
Click here for our 2020 Award recipients
Click here for our 2019 Award recipients 
Click here for our 2018 Award recipients
Click here for our 2017 Award recipients